The deadline for statewide media and school officials to cast a vote for Illinois Ms. Basketball ended Wednesday. The winner will be released through social media Friday.

Mt. Carmel’s Tyra Buss, after a record-smashing career at the Hilltop, is favored to repeat.

The Ms. Basketball award is co-sponsored by the Chicago Tribune and the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association.