The state’s most prolific scorer, Tyra Buss of Mt. Carmel, was a unanimous choice to lead the Associated Press Class 2A all-state team, announced on Wednesday. Buss was the only player named on every ballot returned by a statewide panel of sportswriters and sportscasters.

It is the third time that the junior has been named to the Class 2A first team. Buss broke state records this year for single-season points and career free throws made, and is bearing down on the state scoring record of 4,031 points set by Brittany Johnson of Olney. Buss has 3,431 points, leaving her 600 points away from tying the record total.

Buss, who made a verbal commitment to Indiana prior to the season, finished third in voting for Illinois Miss Basketball last year. The voting for this year’s selection has not been conducted yet.

No. 1 ranked Champaign St. Thomas More, one of the team’s heading to Redbird Arena for the Class 2A Final Four this weekend, landed two selections on the first team, Randa Harshbarger, a 5-foot-5 junior guard, and 6-foot-4 freshman Tori McCoy, who reportedly had a scholarship offer from Illinois before she ever hit the prep courts.

Also named to the 2A first team were Michigan-bound Paige Rakers of Carlyle, and Toledo-bound Sophie Reecher of Byron.

Leading the second team is Rebekah Ehresman of El Paso-Gridley, a 5-8 junior who averaged 16.6 points for the state semifinalist team. Kandie Bloch of Argenta-Oreana was next in voting. Bloch, last year’s state high jump champion, is headed to Illinois on a full-ride track scholarship.

Shaye Harre of finalist Nashville, the daughter of Hornettes coach Wayne Harre, also made the second team, as did junior guard Devin Curry of Watseka and 6-foot-1 senior Cassidy Clark of Orion, who is weighing college offers in basketball, volleyball and soccer.