GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. – Iowa Western used 11 runs in the final three inning to win its third NJCAA national baseball championship in the past five years over Miami Dade (Fla.), 17-5, in the final game of the Alpine Bank Junior College World Series.

Iowa Western (56-11), which was stretched to the maximum before defeating Wabash Valley College in the final game of the Northern District tournament two weeks ago, started with a three-run second inning, with base hits by Quinn Carpenter and  Kaden Moore.  After a hit batter loaded the bases, Alex Krupa drove in two runs with a single to right field.  The third run was scored on a sacrifice bunt by Jordan Schlehuber.

The Reivers added three more in the fourth on three hits. Miami Dade (38-17) got right back into the game, though, cutting the Reivers’ lead to one with a five-run fourth inning.

Darren Seferina led off with a single, followed by a Nick Bateman double. Mario Amaral hit an RBI single up the middle to score Seferina.  Miami Dade’s fourth hit of the inning came from Mandy Alvarez, scoring one. They capped the inning with a Deivy Palmerio home run to right field.

After that, it was all Iowa Western, which scored five runs in the seventh and six in the ninth. Ryan Merrill, who came in to replace Carpenter at designated hitter, capped off the Reivers’ scoring with a three-run home run over the right-field wall that just missed the glove of Sharks right fielder David Parrett.

Iowa Western has now won three national championships in the past five years (2010, 2012, 2014).