MT. CARMEL - Abbey Leighty became the first three-time winner of the S.K. Smith Electric Jr. golf Tournament Tuesday with a four-shot victory.
In the process, the Mt. Carmel junior-to-be tied Chase Witsman as the most decorated athlete in the nine-year history of the event.
Leighty fired an 18-hole round of 76 to lead the girls event. Reagan Keepes finished second at 80, with Morgan Tewell third, six shots back at 82.
Leighty, who has made two trips to the IHSA Class 1A state tournament, became only the second winner of four events in the S.K. Smith series, having won the 9-hole division in 2011.

MT. CARMEL — Day One of the S.K. Smith Electric Junior golf tournament belonged to the youngsters Monday, with boys and girls from 5-13 years of age taking to the links.
Some of the scores left the adults dutifully impressed.
Like the score turned in by Kohen Smith in the nine-hole division for 11-13 year old boys. Even with an out-of-bounds ball that led to an 8 on No. 12, Smith still recorded a round of 39, good for a 13-shot win over Drew Gill.
Smith made three birdie putts on the day.

MT. CARMEL — Ryan Jenner and Colton Etzkorn were the biggest winners during Men’s Club play Wednesday at Mt. Carmel Golf Course.
Playing a game called “Superintendent’s Revenge” during their weekly round, Jenner led the stroke play division with a round of 36, good for a 2-shot win over Brian Workman. John White finished third, four shots back at 40, followed by Doug West’s 41.
In the net division, Etzkorn’s 35 was good for a 1-shot win over Dennis Renner and Matt Deisher, who tied at 36. Mike Wolfe took fourth with a 38.
• The Women’s Club game for the weekly round Wednesday was called “three clubs and a putter.” Janet Wilcoxen was the winner in the gross division, ahead of a tie for the runnerup spot between Lynda Deal and Jan Workman.
Karen Barker won the net division, with Marilyn Small finishing second.
The chip-in pot was won by Faye Rodgers.