Boosters hold golf fundraiser

The Mt. Carmel Booster Club held its annual fund-raising golf tournament on Friday at Mt. Carmel Golf Course.

Proceeds from the 18-hole scramble, which was proceeded by a luncheon at the Shelter House, go to club activities in support of Golden Aces athletics.

A team put together by Jake Bishop, which also included Sean Donahue and Evan Thread, won the tourney with a net round of 48, good for a one-shot win. A total of 15 teams played in the tourney.

Bryce Miller won the Longest Drive competition on the No. 9 hole. Bob Hocking was the closest to the pin winner on no. 7, and Tim Buss was the closest to the line on No. 16.

Chip Mates golf tourney held

The Mt. Carmel Women’s Club held one of its major 18-hole events Wednesday. The Edward Jones Chip Mates 2-Lady Scramble attracted 16 teams to the Mt. Carmel Golf Course.
Tandems competed in both stroke and gross divisions.

Woodsmall wins Amatuer at 60

Even Tim Woodsmall figured he would never again win the Amateur golf championship.
“Not against these boys,” said the 60-year-old Woodsmall, referencing the dramatic surge in young talent that has occurred at the Mt. Carmel Golf Course over the last few years.
Yet, for one shining weekend, he was able to turn back time and end the streak of consecutive wins by members of the 2010 Golden Aces Class 1A state championship team at three.
Woodsmall became the oldest ever to win the Amateur Sunday with a 10-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole, giving him a one-shot win over two-time champion Ryan Bobbitt.

Ryan Bobbitt leads Amateur after 1st round

Former champion Ryan Bobbitt has the lead at the halfway point of the Mt. Carmel Amateur golf championship.

Bobbitt, a back-to-back winner of the event in 2008 and 2009, carded a four-under par 67 Saturday, good for a one-shot lead heading into Sunday’s final round of 16 holes.

One shot back at 68 is 2006 winner Tim Woodsmall. Defending champion Wade Thompson is next at two-under 69.

Six other golfers broke par in the first round, all with 70s: Dave Crow, Chase Witsman, Grant Williams, Rick Bobbitt, Jared Paddick and Brett Smith.

Five other players settled for a par round of 71 and made the cut for championship flight: Tucker Guisewite, Rob Dean, Kevin Macy, Brian Workman and Jacob Zwilling.

A total of 14 golfers made it into the championship flight round in the tourney, which is flighted after the first day of play.

City Amateur play underway

UPDATE: Former City amateur champions Jim White and Jared Paddick teamed with Jim Tredway and Bill Theobald to rout the field in the Am-Am Friday at the Mt. Carmel Golf Course. The team carded a 266, good for a 13-shot victory. Play in the Amateur is now underway with the first foursomes going off at around 7 a.m. Saturday morning.


Sign Up!

You need to enable user registration from User Manager/Options in the backend of Joomla before this module will activate.

Commemorative Magazine