S.K. Smith Jr. golf tourney opens

MT. CARMEL — Day One of the S.K. Smith Electric Junior golf tournament belonged to the youngsters Monday, with boys and girls from 5-13 years of age taking to the links.
Some of the scores left the adults dutifully impressed.
Like the score turned in by Kohen Smith in the nine-hole division for 11-13 year old boys. Even with an out-of-bounds ball that led to an 8 on No. 12, Smith still recorded a round of 39, good for a 13-shot win over Drew Gill.
Smith made three birdie putts on the day.

Jenner, Etzkorn winners in Men's Club play

MT. CARMEL — Ryan Jenner and Colton Etzkorn were the biggest winners during Men’s Club play Wednesday at Mt. Carmel Golf Course.
Playing a game called “Superintendent’s Revenge” during their weekly round, Jenner led the stroke play division with a round of 36, good for a 2-shot win over Brian Workman. John White finished third, four shots back at 40, followed by Doug West’s 41.
In the net division, Etzkorn’s 35 was good for a 1-shot win over Dennis Renner and Matt Deisher, who tied at 36. Mike Wolfe took fourth with a 38.
• The Women’s Club game for the weekly round Wednesday was called “three clubs and a putter.” Janet Wilcoxen was the winner in the gross division, ahead of a tie for the runnerup spot between Lynda Deal and Jan Workman.
Karen Barker won the net division, with Marilyn Small finishing second.
The chip-in pot was won by Faye Rodgers.

S.K. Smith tourney Monday

The 9th Annual S.K. Smith Junior City Golf Tournament is slated for Monday at the Mt. Carmel Municipal Golf Course.
Open to ages 5-18, the tournament format will vary by holes played according to age. Participants are asked to register with the golf shop at 262-5771 and should plan to report in at least 30 minutes prior to their assigned tee time. There is no cost to participate.
First tee gratuities and door prizes will be furnished courtesy of Jody Smith of Country Companies. For further information contact John White at 262-3411 or Karin Kelsey at 263-2384.
Tee times are all between 9-9:30 a.m. Everybody needs to be present by 8:45 a.m.

Both golf clubs get rounds in Wednesday

Both the Mt. Carmel Men’s and Women’s clubs held their weekly rounds on Wednesday.
The women played “poker.” Ann Henning won with a five of a kind. Barb Stock was next also with a five. Gigi Jani’s four-of-a-kind was good for third, followed by Doris Haase, who recorded a straight.
Chip ins came from Haase and Ruth Ann Henager.
The men played “backwards golf.” Jacob Zwilling won the stroke division with a round of 35. Ryan Jenner was one shot back at 36 followed by Sean Donahue’s 37.
On the net side, Nate Fowler was lowest at 34. Two shots back were Doug McPherson and Roger Browning with 36s.

Kieffer wins CYC golf title

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — Emma Kieffer of Mt. Carmel won her division in the Country Youth Classic golf tournament here last week.
Kieffer played the Prairie Vista Golf Course, one of five courses used in the tourney. She recorded a 74 to win the 7G division.
New Lenox, Ill. native Sean Curran broke the CYC record in his division, with a score of 65. The previous top day record for the 4B division was 68, set by Blake Biddle, of St. Charles, Ill. in 2003.
The 13th annual CYC was presented by the Bloomington-Normal Area Convention & Visitors Bureau with title sponsor COUNTRY Financial. Established in 2002 for golfers age 3-22, the tournament took place June 23-25 on five Bloomington-Normal golf courses: Ironwood, Illinois State University, The Den at Fox Creek, Prairie Vista and The Links at Ireland Grove.
With nearly 400 registered players, the volunteer-based tournament reached young golfers from 10 U.S. states and four countries. In 2013, The National Association of Sports Commission Member Award Program named the 2012 CYC the best locally-created event.


Sign Up!

You need to enable user registration from User Manager/Options in the backend of Joomla before this module will activate.

Commemorative Magazine